School, college filings open; two CWC trustees in

Aug 14, 2016 By Katie Roenigk, Staff Writer

The filing period for general election candidates seeking office on local school boards and other districts opened Wednesday and runs through 5 p.m. Aug. 29.

The candidate filing period for the offices in question is separate from the filing period for other elected offices because the trustees and supervisors are not subject to a primary nominating round.

CWC openings

Two people have filed for seats on the Central Wyoming College Board of Trustees.

Carlton Underwood of Fort Washakie signed up Aug. 10 to serve a four-year term representing CWC Subdistrict 3, which covers the Wind River Indian Reservation. He currently serves as board treasurer and has been a trustee since December 2012.

Craig Tolman of Riverton filed Aug. 11 for CWC Subdistrict 2 covering Shoshoni, Lysite, Riverton and surrounding areas. He was appointed to the unexpired, two-year Subdistrict 2 spot last fall after John Mercer resigned, citing a move to Jackson.

Mercer had been elected in November 2014; this year's election will determine who fills the remainder of the four-year term.

A four-year seat representing Subdistrict 2 also is open. Board vice-chair Nicole Schoening currently holds the spot, and she has said she intends to seek re-election. She was appointed to the post in February 2013 after Judy Pedersen resigned; Schoening was elected to fill the rest of the four-year term in 2014.

The four-year Subdistrict 4 seat held by board chairman Colton Crane covering Lander, Hudson, Jeffrey City, Atlantic City and outlying areas also is available, as is the four-year Subdistrict 1 seat held by board secretary Heather Christen-sen covering the Dubois, Crow-heart, Pavillion and Morton areas.

Crane has been on the board since 2008, and Christensen took her spot in 2012. Christensen has said she will not run again, while Crane has not announced.

Candidates for the CWC board represent four different subdistricts in the county, but all Fremont County voters can vote for each.


Charlene Gambler Brown of Riverton filed Aug. 10 for the Fremont County School District 38 Board of Trustees in Arapahoe. She currently is that board's chair.

Board vice-chair John Martin Goggles of St. Stephens filed Aug. 11 to continue serving.

One other four-year spot is available on the Arapahoe board. It is held by board clerk Lionel Bell.


Lynette Jeffres of Riverton filed Aug. 11 for a four-year term on the FCSD 25 Board of Trustees in Riverton. She is that board's treasurer.

Three other four-year seats are open on the FCSD 25 board.

Conservation districts

Gerald M. Caskey of Lander filed Aug. 11 to stay on for a four-year term as urban supervisor of the Popo Agie Conservation Dist-rict. There also is a four-year at-large seat available and a two-year unexpired rural spot.

The district is supervised by a board of five elected officials, including three rural, one urban and one at-large member.

Their mission is to plan for, protect, manage and utilize the natural re-sources in the district's boundaries through sound ecological, financial and cooperative management principles to sustain the quality of life and the natural resources for future generations to enjoy.

Board members guide projects, programs and expenditures and provide direction for district staff. They meet on the first Wednesday of every month, but they also attend several annual local, regional and statewide meeting.

Supervisors are elected by voters within the conservation district - which covers parts of Lander, Hudson, Fort Washakie, Ethete, Milford, Jeffrey City and Atlantic City - and serve voluntarily without pay for four-year terms.

Other openings

There are three four-year positions open on the FCSD 1 Board of Trustees in Lander, the FCSD 2 Board of Trustees in Dubois, the FCSD 14 Board of Trustees for Wyoming Indian, the FCSD 21 Board of Trustees in Fort Washakie and the FCSD 24 Board of Trustees in Shoshoni. Four four-year spots are available on the FCSD 6 Board of Trustees for Wind River.

Three four-year spots are available on each of the following cemetery districts: Dubois, Mountain View and Shoshoni/Lysite.

The Dubois-Crowheart Conservation District has two four-year rural spots open, and the Lower Wind River Conservation District has two four-year rural spots open in addition to one two-year unexpired urban term.

Three four-year terms are open for directors on the Dubois Fire Protection District, with one four-year spot available with the Fremont County Fire Protection District and two four-year terms open with the Jeffrey City Fire Protection District.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...