A family-owned daily newspaper serving Riverton, Lander and Fremont County, Wyoming since 1949
SHS, WRHS back on mats

SHS, WRHS back on mats

Jan 8, 2014 - By Bruce Tippets, Sports Editor

The Shoshoni Wranglers, Moorcroft and Cokeville have emerged as title contenders in the Class 2-A wrestling division.

Shoshoni starts January as the third-ranked team in the classification.

Moorcroft is the top-ranked program in Class 2-A. Cokeville is No. 2. Wright is No. 4, and Riverside/Greybull is No. 5.

"It's pretty tight with the top five teams," Shoshoni coach Tony Truempler said. "It's hard to judge Moorcroft and Cokeville because we never see them. Moorcroft is going to be hard to beat. Moorcroft is just a tough team."

The Wranglers compete Saturday at the Kemmerer Invitational.

"I have a couple of kids that have stepped it up a couple of notches," Truempler said "We should all be in the weights that we want to wrestle in."

The Kemmerer tournament is made up of mostly Class 2-A teams.

"I look at Kemmerer as another good week of practice for us," Truempler said.

SHS won both its home dual tournament and the Wright tournament before going on Christmas break.

"We wrestled great," Truempler said. "I can't complain on what we did."

The Wranglers focused on technique over Christmas.

"I had really good attendance over Christmas break," Truempler said. "We got a lot of live wrestling in."

Wind River

"With the way Christmas and New Year fell, we had a very limited number of practices over the break," Wind River coach James Cunningham said.

The Wind River Cougars are slated to be in the Kemmerer Invitational on Saturday.

"As a team, we are looking to regain conditioning we lost over the break and fine tune our focus and technique," Cunningham said.

Zak Rose and Charles Oldman are looking to return to the lineup for the Cougars after being out with injuries.

Oldman is the top-ranked heavyweight wrestler in Class 2-A.

The Cougars are in the planning stages for the Don Runner tournament.

The tournament is scheduled for Friday, Jan. 17, and Saturday, Jan. 18, in Pavillion.

"The Don Runner is the first real proving ground on the road to state for most 2-A wrestlers," Cunningham said.

There are 24 teams scheduled to compete in the two-day tournament.

"The Don Runner helps to establish the important seeding criteria for regionals," Cunningham said.

Here are the Wyoming wrestling rankings for Class 2-A division

106 pounds -- 1. Trinity Nitchman, Shoshoni; 2. Trey Fischbach, Moorcroft; 3. Brian Crawford, Rocky Mountain; 4. J.J. Seamen, Hanna; 5. Dylan Humes, Moorcroft; 6. Remington Southwick, Lusk; 7. Kash Kaufman, Lingle.

113 -- 1. Dallas Taylor, Moorcroft; 2. Vinhizo Castle, Thermopolis; 3. Keenen Phisterer, Wind River; 4. Matt Dillon, Shoshoni; 5. Tre Nelson, Greybull; 7. Chase Vossler, Burns.

120 -- 1. Kole Schell, Moorcroft; 2. Connor Wilkinson, Shoshoni; 3. Tyler Pohlman, Burns; 4. Trenton Smith, Wright; 5. Bradley Blfano, Saratoga; 6. Jayson Bowen, Cokeville; 7. Daynon Mowry, Saratoga.

126 -- 1. Ryan Bradshaw, Thermopolis; 2. Hunter Angel, Sundance; 3. Danny Huxtable, Shoshoni; 4. Nathan Martinez, Wright; 5. Chaze Wiant, Saratoga; 6. Rowdy Cranston, Moorcroft; 7. Marshall Gibbs, Greybull.

132 -- 1. James Teichert, Cokeville; 2. Lane Hageman, Lingle; 3. Hunter Mason, Saratoga; 4. Taylor Chapin, Kemmerer; 5. Jacob Mickelson, Lovell; 6. Merritt Hageman; 7. Thomas Ingelby, Saratoga.

138 pounds -- 1. Toby Reynolds, Moorcroft; 2. Tyler Clemetson, Shoshoni. 3. Tyler Linquist, Rocky Mountain; 4. Kyle Bartlett, Saratoga; 5. JD Jaeger, Shoshoni; 6. Thomas Painter, Moorcroft; 7. Zane Lewis, Wright.

145 -- 1. Macen Petersen, Cokeville; 2. Wyatt Hageman, Lingle; 3. Bryce Stuman, Lusk; 4. Tate Allison, Moorcroft; 5. Cole Hill, Greybull; 6. Garrett Julian, Kemmerer; 7. Keaton Stevens, Hulett.

152 pounds - 1. Zack Larson, Thermopolis, 2. Luke Lovett, Moorcroft; 3. Alex Ferguson, Wright; 4. Brady Thurston, Lusk; 5. Jesus Burgos, Greybull; 6. Ellis Toomer, Cokeville; 7. Hyrum Hopkin, Lovell.

160 -- 1. Brock Teichert, Cokeville; 2. Kodiak French, Wright; 3. Brodie Lay, Lingle; 4. JJ Crichton, Shoshoni; 5. Anthony Eibert, Greybull; 6. Kris Justice, Wind River; 7. Coulter Buhler, Moorcroft.

170 -- 1. Cameron Braden, Moorcroft; 2. RJ Seaman, Hanna; 3. Cecil Brockman, Burns; 4. Alex Dayton, Cokeville; 5. Jon Burrows, Thermopolis; 6. Colter Viehweg, Cokeville; 7. Dustin Ruvolao, Hulette.

182 -- 1. Jace Petersen, Cokeville; 2. Alex Minge, Shoshoni; 3. Zeke Collins, Lovell; 4. Rowan Hawk, Dubois; 5. Lucas Schimer, Southeast; 6. Tyler Strobl, Wright; 7. Tanyon Gray, Moorcroft. 195 -- 1. Sterling Baker, Dubois; 2. Wyatt Somsen, Southeast; 3. Travis Jinks, Southeast; 4. River Shroeder, Burns; 5. Raustin Grandy, Cokeville

Get your copy of The Ranger online, every day! If you are a current print subscriber and want to also access dailyranger.com online (there is nothing more to purchase) including being able to download The Mining and Energy Edition, click here. Looking to start a new online subscription to dailyranger.com (even if it is for just one day)? Access our secure SSL encrypted server and start your subscription now by clicking here.

Related Stories

Related Tags

County Weather

Photo Gallery

Twitter Feed (Follow Us!)

Contact Us  © 2017 Riverton Ranger, Inc.