Election preparations under way; no precinct or district changes this year

Apr 8, 2014 By Eric Blom, Staff Writer

After several voting precinct and districts changes two years ago, Fremont County's voting geography will be unchanged this year. There will be 32 precincts and 17 polling places for the primary and general elections.

"We are not changing any boundaries whatsoever from the 2012 to the 2014 election year," deputy county clerk Margy Irvine told Fremont County Commissioners at their April 1 meeting.

No precincts were added or dropped either and polling places will be the same as 2012.

The primary election is Aug. 19, and the general election is Nov. 4.

The election districts and precincts will be in place for the next two years after the county board unanimously approved them at the meeting.

In 2012, County Clerk Julie Freese proposed, and commissioners approved, eliminating the rural precinct known as 8 Mile (15-1) between Riverton and Pavillion. Some precincts saw boundary changes as well.

"In 2012 we had some major boundary changes because of legislative districts and commissioner districts," Irvine said.

The 2010 Census showed population changes requiring some redistricting and a 2007 lawsuit led to commission districts for the first time in the 2012 elections. Nothing required a change in election boundaries this year, however.

"We try not to change boundaries --that's something that's difficult on the voters -- unless there's a really good, logical reason," Irvine said in an interview.

In 2012, Freese told commissioners she could not find election judges to run the 8 Mile precinct and suggested combining it with Pavillion's 14-1.

The clerk's office also intends to send postcards this year to all registered voters in the county informing them of their state house, state senate, county commission and school districts so they know which campaigns to follow, Irvine said. A date to send out the notifications has not been set.

Residents can register to vote in person at the county courthouse in Lander, the county clerk's office in Riverton, the Dubois, Pavillion, Shoshoni or Hudson town halls, the Northern Arapahoe Tribal Office or Riverton City Hall.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...