New candidates file for SD25 and HD33

May 28, 2014 From staff reports

A second candidate also joined the field for Shoshoni mayor.

Candidates continue to file this week for national, state and local offices representing Fremont County.

The formal filing period opened May 15 and continues through Friday for partisan candidates in county, state and national offices, as well as for nonpartisan municipal offices.

The primary election is Aug. 19, with the general election Nov. 4.

Filing for school boards, the community college board and some other non-partisan races that do not have a primary election takes place later thisyear.

New filings

Incumbent Gov. Matt Mead filed his paperwork Tuesday to continue serving in Cheyenne. He joins Republican Taylor Haynes of Cheyenne, who turned in paperwork May 15.

Democrat Pete Gosar of Laramie announced that he would run for governor during the Wyoming Democratic Party convention May 17, but he has yet to file.Republican Superintendent of Public Instruction Cindy Hill also says she will run for governor this year but has not yet filed.

The race for Wyoming Senate District 25 now includes Allen Whiteman of Riverton, who filed Tuesday. Incumbent Cale Case of Lander filed May 15 to keep the seat, and Jennifer McCarty and Joe Malek of Lander both filed May 16.

Democrat Wilfred J. Ferris III of Fort Washakie filed Tuesday to represent Wyoming House District 33. He joins Democrat Andrea Clifford of Riverton, who filed May 21, and Republicans Jim Allen of Lander and Daniel Cardenas of St. Stephen's, who filed May 15 and May 16, respectively. Incumbent Democrat Patrick Goggles is retiring from the post.

Incumbent Republican H. Michael Bennett of Lander submitted his paperwork Tuesday for election to his appointed position. He was chosen to fill the spot after Brian Varn retired in January 2013. Deputy county attorney Patrick LeBrun of Riverton filed as a Republican candidate for Fremont County Attorney on May 15.

There will be a contest for Shoshoni mayor, with Vanessa K. Dickinson of Shoshoni filing for the spot on Tuesday. Incumbent Scott Peters filed Friday for a second term.

Mike Anderson of Hudson filed Tuesday to serve as town mayor.

Finally, Rex Wilde of Cheyenne filed Tuesday as a Democrat for U.S. Senate. Two other Democrats are challenging incumbent Sen. Mike Enzi, R-Wyo., who filed Friday for his fourth term: William Bryk of Bruntfork, who filed May 19, and Al Hamburg of Torrington, who filed May 20.

National, state races

U.S. Rep.Cynthia Lummis, R-Wyo., submitted her paperwork for re-election on Wednesday. She will face Jason Adam Senteney, a Republican from Yoder, who filed May 19.

Incumbent state Rep. Rita Campbell, R-Shoshoni, filed May 15 to continue representing House District 34, but she will have a primary opponent: Longtime Republican leader Pat Moore of Dubois filed for the seat May 16.

Two other Republican incumbents filed May 15 for Wyoming House races: Lloyd Larsen of Lander for House District 54 and David Miller of Riverton for House District 55.Both men were unopposed as of 5 p.m. Tuesday.

Pete Illoway of Cheyenne filed May 20 as a Republican for Secretary of State. The field also includes Republicans Ed Murray of Cheyenne and Clark Stith of Rock Springs, both of whom filed May 15, and Ed Buchanan of Torrington, who filed May 16.

Republican Bill Winney of Bondurant filed May 20 to serve as Wyoming's Superintendent of Public Instruction. Republican Jillian Balow and Democrat Mike Ceballos, both of Cheyenne, submitted their paperwork May 15.

Republican Cynthia Cloud of Cody wants to stay on as Wyoming State Auditor; she filed May 15. Wyoming State Treasurer Mark Gordon, an appointed incumbent, filed for a full term on May 16.

Nathan Winters of Thermopolis filed May 15 to continue representing Wyoming House District 28.

Local office

Valaira A. Whiteman of St. Stephen's filed May 19 as a Republican for Fremont County Commission District 1. She will face incumbent Democrat Keja Whiteman, who also filed May 19.

Fremont County Commissioner Travis Becker of Riverton filed for re-election May 15 to continue representing District 3.

Two men who want to be Fremont County's next coroner also filed May 15: Mark Stratmoen of Riverton and Dominick Weigel of Lander. Both candidates filed as Republicans.

Fremont County Treasurer Scott Harnsberger filed for re-election May 16 as a Republican.

Sheriff Skip Hornecker of Lander and Mark Stone of Riverton both filed May 15 as Republicans for Fremont County Sheriff.

Fremont County Clerk Julie Freese filed May 15 to stay at her post, as did Fremont County Assessor Tara Berg and Fremont County Clerk of District Court Kristi Green. All three Republican women live in Lander.

Appointed incumbent Kyle Larson filed May 16 to keep his seat on the Riverton City Council.

Martin J. Cannan of Riverton submitted his paperwork May 20 to run for the Ward 3 spot he currently fills on the Riverton City Council. The term would be for two years.

Mike Bailey of Riverton filed May 19 for the four-year Ward 3 term currently held by Richard Gard, who is running for mayor. Riverton city administrator Steven Weaver said Bailey and Cannan will not oppose one another in the primary.

Cannan was appointed to his position in February to replace Lars Baker, who resigned in December to comply with a regulation from the Wyoming State Retirement system.Baker had attempted to reclaim the position in February, but it was given to Cannan instead. Baker filed May 15 to run as a mayoral candidate against Gard, who also submitted his paperwork that day.

Mayor Ron Warpness has confirmed that he will not seek a second term.

A primary race also will be held for the position of Lander mayor. Del McOmie, a former mayor of Lander and retired state representative, filed May 15 for the post, as did Dan Hahn.

Ed Patik filed Friday, May 16, for Lander City Council in Ward 2. On May 15, Monte Richardson became a candidate for the Lander City Council Ward 1 seat, and Nancy Pieropan became a candidate for the Lander City Council Ward 3 seat.

Dubois Mayor Twila Blakeman filed May 16 for another term.

Bill Marcus of Riverton filed Friday for a seat on the Shoshoni Town Council. Linda Y. Manz of Shoshoni filed May 21 for a spot, joining Lea M. Delay, who filed May 16.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...