Raiders rained out of state tourney opener

Jul 30, 2014 By Bruce Tippets, Sports Editor

Wet weather made officials postpone the first day of the American Legion baseball state tournament for the Riverton Raiders.

A rainstorm in Laramie on Wednesday morning has pushed the opening round game to noon on Thursday between the Raiders and the Cody Cubs.

Riverton is the No. 4 seed for the state tournament. Cody is a No. 1 seed.

This is Riverton's first state appearance in five years.

"Cody is the toughest team we have played this year," Riverton manager Brady Beers said.

The winner of Cody-Riverton plays the winner of Douglas-Rock Springs at 4 p.m. Friday. The consolation game will be played at 9 a.m. Friday.

Games in the American Legion postseason are nine-inning affairs. At the district tournament, Riverton clinched a state tournament spot by coming back to edge Evanston 15-13.

"We have to play really crisp defense," Beers said. "Our defense needs to be there, because Cody is going to hit the ball. They are one of the better hitting teams in the state. "

District honors

The Riverton trio of Steven Reinig, Andrew Von Rein and Baylor Beers were selected to the all-district team.

Reinig and Beers were voted to the first team. Von Rein is on the second team.

Reinig is a catcher and pitcher for the Raiders. Von Rein plays in the infield for Riverton and is in the pitching rotation.

Beers shares the catching duties with Reinig and plays in the infield.


Riverton is probably going to start with Ryan Axthelm on the mound in the tournament opener.

The relievers are Reinig, Beers and Von Rein.

In the outfield will be Bailey Meyers, Austin Locker and Sean Hughes. T.J. Paulsen plays second and Tyler Landis goes at first.

The left side of the infield will depend on who is pitching for the Raiders.

State tournament schedule in Laramie


(No. 3 seed/North) Douglas Cats vs. (No. 2 seed/SouthS) Rock Springs Archie Hay Post 24 - 9am

(No. 4 seed/South) Riverton Raiders vs. (No. 1 seed/North) Cody Cubs -

(No. 4 seed/North) Casper Drillers vs. (No. 1 seed/South) Green River Knights - 3pm

(No. 3 seed/South) Laramie Rangers vs. (No. 2 seed/North) Powell Pioneers - 7pm


Douglas/Rock Springs loser vs. Riverton/Cody loser - 9am LOSER OUT.

Casper/Green River loser vs. Laramie/Powell loser - Noon LOSER OUT.

Douglas/Rock Springs winner vs. Riverton/Cody winner - 4pm

Casper/Green River winner vs. Laramie/Powell winner - 7pm

Friday, August 1:

Matchups TBA

South all-district

first team honors

Ian Fisher, Evanston; Austin Murphy , Torrington; Caden Coffelt, Torrington; Wyatt Winget, Torrington; Ryan Kath, Torrington;

Baylor Beers, Riverton; Steven Reinig, Riverton; Nick Blume, Rock Springs; Austin Mortensen, Rock Springs; Tanner Hanks, Green River; Isaiah Munoz, Green River; Kody Palmer, Rawlins

2nd Team:

Drew Burman, Laramie; Nate Hill, Laramie; Holden Cain, Rock Springs; Kolton Legerski, Rock Springs; Andrew Von Rein, Riverton

Hunter Hicks, Evanston; William Kishpaugh, Evanston;

Tyler Vendetti, Green River; Brendan Hopkins, Green River;

Dallen Fleenor, Torrington; Brock Youtz, Torrington;

Lane Potratz, Rawlins; Lucas Randolph, Rawlins.

South Player of the Year: Austin Murphy - Torrington

South Co-Pitchers of the Year: Nick Blume - Rock Springs AND Caden Coffelt - Torrington

South Coach of the Year: Jared Stimpson - Torrington

Print Story
Read The Ranger...