The Ranger (beta)

Fremont County's Daily Newspaper

News of Riverton, Lander and Fremont County, Wyoming, from the Ranger's award winning journalists.

Ranger Login

Raiders drop season openers to Evanston
Riverton Raiders first baseman Nate Hatfield tried to tag a Evanston runner Saturday afternoon in Lander. Photo by Bruce Tippets

Raiders drop season openers to Evanston

May 6, 2012 - By Bruce Tippets, Sports Editor

Evanston broke open a 4-4 in the top of the eighth inning, scoring seven runs in the frame to post an 11-4 win Saturday afternoon over the Riverton Raiders in the American Legion baseball season opener in Lander.

The game was scheduled for seven innings.

The Outlaws completed the sweep 22-6 in the final game of the doubleheader.

The doubleheader was played at Lander City Park because Roy Peck Field in Riverton wasn't ready to be played on.

The Raiders will take part in a Green River tournament on Saturday and Sunday.

"We played really well in the first game," Riverton manager Jeremy McCormick said. "We had three errors in the eighth inning, and had one bad inning. Evanston hit the ball well. We had some plays that we needed to make, but for seven innings we did a good job. We made some great plays. We hit the ball pretty well."

Evanston 11, Riverton 4

The Raiders took a 2-0 lead in the first three innings vs. the Outlaws.

In the bottom of the second, Delbert Wichelchaus was credited with an RBI single.

Riverton's second run of the game came in the bottom of the third on a Maurice King RBI flyout.

The Outlaws knotted the score at 2-2 in the top of the fourth inning on a two-run homer off starter Johnny Souza.

Souza struck out the side in the top of the fifth to keep the game tied.

Evanston crossed home plate once in the top of the sixth on a RBI single.

Wichelhaus tied the score at 3-3 in the bottom of the sixth.

The Outlaws retook the lead at 4-3 on a Riverton error, but the Raiders came back and tied the score at 4-4 on an RBI flyout.

Souza was finished on the mound after seven innings. He recorded eight strikeouts.

"Johnny pitched really well," McCormick said. "He just left that curveball hanging when the kid hit the two-run shot. Johnny battled well. He did a great job for us."

In the top of the eighth inning, Gerald Childers gave up four runs before King gave up three runs, and the Outlaws had the win.

Evanston 22, Riverton 6

The Outlaws took control early in the second game of the doubleheader building a 10-0 lead off King.

In the bottom of the fifth, Riverton extended the game by scoring four runs to pull within 12-4.

Baylor Beers, Tony Stewart and Childers all knocked in runs in the inning.

The Outlaws went back in command the late innings for the sweep.

Riverton 2012 Raiders baseball schedule

Sunday, May 12 -- at Green River round robin, two games.

Sunday, May 13 -- at Green River round robin, two games.

Friday, May 18 -- Casper Oilers (6:30 p.m. , one nine-inning game).

Saturday, May 19 -- Rawlins Generals (noon and 2 p.m.).

Tuesday, May 29 -- Cody (5 p.m. and 7 p.m. conference games).

Tuesday, June 5 -- Sheridan (5 p.m. and 7 p.m.)

Friday, June 8 -- at Evanston (noon and 2 p.m.

Tuesday, June 12 -- at Casper Oilers (noon, one nine-inning game).

Tuesday, June 19 -- Green River (4 p.m. and 6 p.m.).

Thursday, June 21 -- at Powell (3 p.m. and 5 p.m. conference games).

Tuesday, June 26 -- Lovell ( 2 p.m. and 4:30 p.m., conference games).

Friday, June 29 -- at Cody Wood Bat Tournament, TBA.

Saturday, June 30 -- at Cody Wood Bat Tournament, TBA.

Sunday, July 1 -- at Cody Wood Bat Tournament, TBA.

Tuesday, July 3 -- at Rawlins (noon and 2 p.m.).

Friday, July 6 -- at Douglas Wood Bat Tournament, TBA.

Saturday, July 7 -- at Douglas Wood Bat Tournament, TBA.

Sunday, July 8 -- at Douglas Wood Bat Tournament, TBA.

Wednesday, July 11 -- at Cody (5 p.m. and 7 p.m. conference games).

Wednesday, July 18 -- Powell (3 p.m. and 5 p.m. conference games).

Friday, July 20 -- Douglas (4 p.m. and 6 p.m.).

Saturday, July 21 -- at Lovell (1 p.m. and 3 p.m. conference game).

Sunday, July 22 -- at Sheridan (noon and 2 p.m.).

Wednesday, July 25 -- District A tournament in Powell, TBA.

Thursday, July 26 -- District A tournament in Powell, TBA.

Friday, July 27 -- District A tournament In Powell, TBA.

Wednesday, August 1-- at state tournament (Casper).

Thursday, August 2 -- at state tournament (Casper).

Friday, August 3 -- at state tournament (Casper).

Saturday, August 4 -- at state tournament (Casper).

Sunday, August 5 --- at state tournament (Casper).

Related content:
 
Riverton