Filing opens Thursday for the Aug. 6 primary

May 16, 2012 By Martin Reed, Staff Writer

Primary election

- Filing opens May 17

- Filing closes June 1

- For federal and state offices, file with Wyoming Secretary of State

- For county offices, file with Fremont County Clerk

- For municipal offices, file at city/town hall

- School and college boards have separate filing period this summer

- Primary election is Aug. 21

- General election is Nov. 6

The candidate filing period for various federal offices, state legislative seats, Fremont County Commission districts and municipal positions appearing on the primary election ballot opens Thursday, May 17.

Candidates who intend to seek an office must file their application by the June 1 deadline.

Federal and state office candidates must file with the Wyoming Secretary of State, commission applicants go to the Fremont County Clerk's Elections Office and municipal office seekers need to go to their respective city or town halls.

In many cases, winners of the primary election will advance to the general election Nov. 6.

Federal, state offices

On the Aug. 21 primary election ballot will be U.S. Sen. John Barrasso's seat, which is a six-year term, and U.S. Rep. Cynthia Lummis's office, which is a two-year term.

Depending on where voters reside in the county, various state legislative seats will be on the primary ballot.

Those in the Shoshoni and Lysite area will vote in a new House and Senate district because of changes to boundaries imposed by the Legislature this year with population shifts recorded in the 2010 Census.

Those voters will be part of legislative districts extending north into Hot Springs and Washakie counties. The four-year seat held by state Sen. Gerald Geis, of Worland, for Senate District 20 and the House District 28 two-year seat held by state Rep. Lorraine Quarberg, of Thermopolis, will appear on the ballot.

Up for election elsewhere in the county is the four-year seat held by state Sen. Eli Bebout, of Riverton, in Senate District 26.

Two-year seats are up for offices held by state Reps. Patrick Goggles, of Ethete, in House District 33, Rita Campbell, of rural Riverton, in House District 34, Del McOmie, of Lander, in House District 54 and David Miller, of Riverton, for House District 55.

Three commission seats

For the county commission, seats up for election are District 2 in north Fremont County held by Dennis Christensen, the District 5 seat held by Doug Thompson covering the county's south portion and the District 4 seat in the Lander area held by Pat Hickerson.

Districts 2 and 5 will be four-year terms, but the District 4 seat will be a two-year term because of changes created by the commission shifting boundaries with the 2010 Census.

Cities and towns

At the municipal level, Riverton City Council seats appearing on the ballot include four-year terms for Ward 1 held by Diana Mahoney, Ward 2 held by Todd Smith and Ward 3 held by Lars Baker.

The Lander City Council's four-year seats appearing on the ballot include Ward 1 represented by John Boulette, Ward 2 held by Cade Maestas and Ward 3 held by Linda Barton.

The Pavillion Town Council has two two-year terms open and two four-year seats available. Bud Kisling and Tauna Richardson currently hold the four-year seats.

The Dubois Town Council has two four-year seats up for election. They are held by David Bennett and Rick Lee.

The Hudson Town Council has two four-year seats available. Mike Anderson and Sherry Oler hold those seats.

The Shoshoni Town Council also has two four-year seats up for election. They are held by Ken Cundall and Bill Marcus.

Other offices

The primary election ballot will also have seats available for precinct committee men and women throughout the county for the Republican and Democratic parties.

The last day to register for the primary election before the contest is Aug. 6 at the Fremont County elections office in Lander or the county clerk's Riverton office. Voter registration will be available at the polls on the primary election day.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...