Baker seeks re-election in Ward 3; Thompson files

May 20, 2012 By Christina George, Staff Writer

The filing period for the Aug. 21 primary election runs through June 1.

The Riverton City Council election had its first candidate file for office on Friday.

Lars Baker is seeking re-election as Ward 3 councilman.

The incumbent is the only Riverton City Council candidate as of 5 p.m. on Friday who had filed his application for the Aug. 21 primary election.

Candidates in two other races in Fremont County also filed on Friday.

Three-term Fremont County Commissioner Doug Thompson, a Jeffrey City Republican, submitted his application for Fremont County Commission District 5. The current commission chairman's two opponents filed for the office on Thursday. They are Red Fyler of Atlantic City and Jennifer McCarty of Lander, both Republicans.

In Lander, the candidate pool for House District 54 grew to four on Friday.

Democratic candidate Michelle L. Hoffman and Republican Lloyd Charles Larsen joined Democrat Bruce Palmer and Republican John B. Brown in the race.

The current seat holder, state Rep. Del McOmie, R-Lander, announced last month that he would not seek another term after serving 14 years.

On the federal ballot, two candidates have filed for the U.S. Senate seat held by John Barrasso, R-Wyo.

Republican Thomas Bleming of Lusk filed for the office on Friday, and Democratic candidate Al Hamburg of Torrington filed on Thursday.

As of Friday, no candidates had filed for the U.S. House of Representatives seat.

However, a news release issued Friday stated that incumbent Cynthia Lummis, R-Wyo., will announce her re-election bid on May 21 in Cheyenne. Lummis has held the seat since 2008.


Four legislators who represent Fremont County voters and are up for re-election this year have filed for another term.

As of Friday, incumbent state Sen. Eli D. Bebout, R-Riverton, remained the lone candidate for Senate District 26.

In the House District 33 race, state Rep. W. Patrick Goggles, D-Ethete, is seeking another term. St. Stephen's Republican Daniel Cardenas has also filed for the seat.

State Rep. Rita Campbell, a Republican of rural Riverton, filed for re-election to House District 34. Her challenger is Shoshoni Republican Lois Herbst.

This year, House District 28 and Senate District 20 will represent voters in the Shoshoni and Lysite area under the new legislative redistricting plan.

The districts predominantly consist of the Big Horn Basin.

Thermopolis Republican Nathan Winters filed for House District 28. The seat is currently held by state Rep. Lorraine Quarberg, R-Thermopolis.

State Sen. Gerald E. Geis, R-Worland, is seeking another term in Senate District 20. As of Friday, he had no opponents.

Lander City Council

Two Lander City Council incumbents are seeking re-election this year.

Ward 3 councilwoman Linda Barton filed for another term, as did Ward 1 councilor John Boulette.

Sollie Cadman and Dan Hahn have also filed for Ward 1. Hahn is a former councilman.

He did not seek re-election in 2010 because he was running for Lander mayor. He lost to incumbent Mayor Mick Wolfe.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...