A family-owned daily newspaper serving Riverton, Lander and Fremont County, Wyoming since 1949

Candidates in Hudson, Shoshoni file for election

May 30, 2012 - By Christina George, Staff Writer

A handful of candidates have submitted their application for office with two days to go until the filing period closes for the primary election in August.

Hudson Town Council members Mike Anderson and Sherry Oler have filed for re-election. The two were elected in 2008.

In Shoshoni, Gary Weisz is seeking one of two four-year town council seats that are up for election this year. Ken Cundall and Bill Marcus hold the positions.

Weisz has never served on town council but ran for a seat in 2006 and again in 2008.

Newcomer Darla Keever also filed for Shoshoni Town Council last week.

As of noon Wednesday, the only other new candidate who has filed is U.S. Sen. John Barrasso, R-Wyo.

Barrasso submitted his application following an announcement Tuesday at the Wyoming State Capitol in Cheyenne.

According to a news release, the senator told the crowd that elections aren't reward systems.

"They're job applications -- and I'm humbly asking Wyoming people to let me keep fighting every day for them for accountable government," he said.

It will be Barrasso's first full six-year term in office if elected in November. Former Gov. Dave Freudenthal appointed him to the position following the 2007 death of U.S. Sen. Craig Thomas. Barrasso then ran and was elected in 2008 to serve out the remainder of Thomas' term.

Since the filing period opened May 17, two others have filed for the seat. They are Republican Thomas Bleming, of Lusk, and Democratic candidate Al Hamburg, of Torrington.

Some local races have yet to see a candidate file. As of noon Wednesday, no one had submitted an application for Dubois or Pavillion town councils.

The Dubois Town Council has two four-year seats up for election, currently held by David Bennett and Rick Lee.

In Pavillion, there are two two-year terms open and two four-year seats available. Bud Kisling and Tauna Richardson hold the four-year seats.

The filing period closes Friday, June 1, for Fremont County commission and various municipal, legislative and federal offices that will be on the primary ballot Aug. 21.

Get your copy of The Ranger online, every day! If you are a current print subscriber and want to also access dailyranger.com online (there is nothing more to purchase) including being able to download The Mining and Energy Edition, click here. Looking to start a new online subscription to dailyranger.com (even if it is for just one day)? Access our secure SSL encrypted server and start your subscription now by clicking here.

Related Stories

Related Tags

County Weather

Photo Gallery

Twitter Feed (Follow Us!)

Contact Us  © 2017 Riverton Ranger, Inc.