A family-owned daily newspaper serving Riverton, Lander and Fremont County, Wyoming since 1949

Faculty retirements, transfers approved

May 30, 2012 - By Carolyn B. Tyler, Staff Writer

Six longtime employees of Fremont School District 25 will be retiring from the Riverton schools with the end of the academic year on Thursday, May 31.

Retirement requests which have been accepted by the Riverton School Board are Rick Bergstedt, Peggy Young-Bergstedt, Lynette Fleak, Lori Nielson, Barbara Lampert, and Gay Hughes.

The end-of-year awards ceremony for staff is at 2 p.m. Thursday at Riverton Middle School, followed by the staff barbecue, golf tournament and geocaching event.

At the May 22 meeting of the Riverton school board, teaching contracts were offered to Jennifer McClung for Aspen Park behavior resource room teacher; Jennifer Green, Rendezvous fifth grade; Sady Perryman, Rendezvous third grade, and Brandelle Johnson, Jackson second grade. And Becky Bestul was hired as a new Riverton High School secretary to man the new security desk.

Earlier in the month Ryan "Levi" Willie was offered a contract for the math resource position at RHS; Jacob Bauman, Ashgrove second grade; Noell Boyer, RMS social studies, Marco Von Osten-Piazzisi, Rendezvous fourth grade; Kari Oeser, Rendezvous fourth grade; Amy Moe Rendezvous third grade, Brady Samuelson, RMS eighth grade science, and Tonya Mathill, Rendezvous third grade.

Michelle Huxtable has resigned from her nurse para position at Aspen Park and Ashgrove schools; Jody Ray has resigned from half-time driver education aide position; Rachel McDonald has resigned from the Riverton Middle School para position; Carol Speck resigned as an Aspen Park teacher, and Nicolas Hagermann resigned as Aspen Park third-grade teacher.

Cory Wright has been transferred to the data analyst position; Elaine Smith transferred from Aspen Park to a kindergarten opening at Ashgrove; Sasha Weisback transferred from Aspen Park to second grade at Ashgrove; Kim Heil will be the library paraprofessional at Ashgrove next year; and Diane McKinnon will be a para at Rendezvous next year.

The board gave permission to Ron Porter for the girls basketball team to travel to Spearfish, S.D., in June and to Dick Quayle for the boys basketball team to travel to Billings, Mont.

The first school board meeting for June has been moved forward a week to June 5, with the second meeting of June to be on the regular fourth Tuesday, June 26.

Only one board meeting is held in July. That will be the annual budget hearing on Wednesday, July 18. The board will hold its annual retreat at 6 p.m. Tuesday, July 17.

Get your copy of The Ranger online, every day! If you are a current print subscriber and want to also access dailyranger.com online (there is nothing more to purchase) including being able to download The Mining and Energy Edition, click here. Looking to start a new online subscription to dailyranger.com (even if it is for just one day)? Access our secure SSL encrypted server and start your subscription now by clicking here.

Related Stories

Related Tags

County Weather

Photo Gallery

Twitter Feed (Follow Us!)

Contact Us  © 2017 Riverton Ranger, Inc.