Most Wyoming counties get federal disaster designation

Jul 20, 2012 The Associated Press

CHEYENNE -- Sixteen Wyoming counties now qualify for federal drought assistance.

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack this week designated two more counties in the state as primary natural disaster areas due to drought.

Gov. Matt Mead has requested that all Wyoming counties, except Teton County, receive a drought disaster declaration.

Mead says in a news release that he will continue to push for more counties to get drought aid because the entire state has been exceptionally dry this year.

The federal drought disaster declaration makes agricultural operators eligible for some assistance from the Farm Service Agency.

The counties that have received primary disaster designation are: Hot Springs, Laramie, Carbon, Sweetwater, Uinta, Lincoln, Sublette and Fremont. Those that qualify as contiguous counties are: Albany, Natrona, Converse, Platte, Goshen, Washakie, Park and Teton.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...