Maxon submits name for District 5 commission seat

Aug 23, 2012 By Christina George, Staff Writer

Although Doug Thompson defeated both challengers in the primary election for the Republican Party nomination in Fremont County Commission District 5, the incumbent will see another contender in the November race.

Nathan Maxon submitted his application for the seat on Wednesday. The Lander man is running as an independent.

According to unofficial results from Tuesday's election, Thompson won the GOP nomination with 38 percent of the votes, which is roughly 1 percent more than contender Jennifer McCarty of Lander.

Red Fyler of the South Pass area secured 21 percent of the votes cast Tuesday.

Commissioner Pat Hickerson, who ran unopposed, will also see a challenger in the Nov. 6 general election.

Stephanie Kessler of Lander filed for District 4 earlier this month. Like Maxon, Kessler is also running as an independent.

With less than a week to go until the filing period closes Aug. 27 for various school boards and fire, conservation and cemetery districts appearing on the November ballot, a few more candidates have filed for office.

Colton Crane on Wednesday submitted his application for re-election to the Central Wyoming College Sub-district 4 post. The district incorporates Lander, Hudson, Jeffrey City and Atlantic City. Crane of Lander was appointed to the seat in August 2008 to replace Dallas Myers and later that year was elected to his first four-year term.

In other CWC races, Tim Payne of Riverton filed for the Sub-district 2 seat, held by Judy Petersen. Carlton C.T. Underwood of Fort Washakie is seeking the Sub-district 3 seat, held by Caroline Mills.

New filings

Marietta Twitchell submitted her application on Wednesday for Fremont County School District 21 Board of Education in Fort Washakie. Also in the race are Kathryn Ferris Lone Fight and incumbent Tex LeClair.

Jack Ratliff filed for re-election to the Mountain View Cemetery District in Riverton. Jerry Kintzler and incumbents Norman Moss and Nancy Richardson are also seeking one of three seats up this year.

Other races

School District 2 in Dubois has yet to see a candidate file for three positions with expiring terms as of 5 p.m. Wednesday.

Brooke Sutton and incumbent Joe Palladino are seeking one of three opening seats on the School District 1 board in Lander.

The race for four opening spots on the School District 6 board at Wind River has two candidates. They are Mark Perkins and incumbent Kristin Benson.

School District 14 incumbents Clarinda Thunder and Belle Ferris filed for re-election to the Wyoming Indian board. There is a third seat up this year.

Teffany Fegler and Kelly Gardner are running for another four years on the School District 24 board in Shoshoni. There is a third spot on the board with an expiring term.

School District 25 trustees Lynette Jeffres, Carl Manning, Glenn Ogg and Dean Peranteaux continue to be the only candidates in the Riverton race.

The largest board race so far this year is for three opening seats on the School District 38 board.

Candidates are Theodore Lionel Bell, Arlo "Skeeter" Moss, Maxine Moss, Preston Moss, Michael Redman, Brian Williams Sr., Margret "Margo" Williams and incumbent John Goggles.

Fremont County Fire District director Glen Steers of Lander is running for another term. Ken Metzler of Riverton joins him.

Robert Wiley is seeking re-election as director of the Jeffrey City Fire District. Ron Wilmes is also running for a director spot on the district that has two-year unexpired term.

Dubois Fire District directors Larry Wilke, Peter Wendell and Reg Phillips are seeking another term. Wilke represents sub-district 1, Wendell represents sub-district 2 and Phillips represents sub-district 4.

Popo Agie Conservation District at-large supervisor Timothy Wilson and urban supervisor Gerald Caskey are running for re-election.

James "J.W." Hendry and incumbents Rod Rivers and Gavin Woody are vying for rural supervisor of the Lower Wind River Conservation District.

Lyle Alexander and Reg Phillips are seeking re-election as rural supervisors of the Dubois/Crowheart Conservation District.

Judy Hurt is running for another term as director of the Shoshoni/Lysite Cemetery District.

Lynn Stewart and incumbents Stephen Banks and Hugh Boyd Livingston are running for director of the Dubois Cemetery District.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...