RHS runners host Class 4-A West regionals

Oct 11, 2012 By Bruce Tippets, Sports Editor

Riverton High School cross country coach Jay Dayton wants to continue to see steady improvement from his runners Friday at the Class 4-A West regional meet at the Wind River Golf Course.

The Wolverines host the meet, which starts at 11 a.m. with the junior varsity girls.

The junior varsity boys are slated for 11:30 a.m. The varsity girls go off at noon. The varsity boys begin their race at 12:30 p.m.

The Wolverines finished the regular season Friday at the Berry Bryant/Kyle Johnson Memorial race.

"Last week, we saw a big drop in time," Dayton said.

"All of my runners improved by a minute or two. We didn't have one runner that didn't have a personal record."

RHS, Green River, Rock Springs, Evanston, Kelly Walsh and Casper Natrona make up the 4-A North conference.

"The conference is pretty tough," Dayton said. "You have Kelly Walsh teams that have improved over the years that are going to provide some really good competition."

Ricky Faure from Rock Springs is the fastest boys runner in either Class 4-A, 3-A and 2-A.

"The Rock Springs boys and girls teams are state contenders," Dayton said. "We are going to have a great field of runners."

All of the runners advance to the Class 4-A state meet planned for Saturday, Oct. 20, in Douglas.

RHS runners

Dayton wants his RHS girls tandem of Olivia Thompson and Jillian C'Bearing to crack into the top 10 Friday.

Thompson finished fifth last week at the Wind River Golf Course. Thompson is the defending Class 4-A champion.

The Riverton field had two of the top runners in Class 3-A in the field.

Riverton's No. 3 runner is Ainur Zhuldybaeva.

"We would like to have Ainur in the top 20 ," Dayton said.

Bailey Broadbent, Taylor Harris and Camille Whiteman are the other RHS girls runners.

Thomas Beasley, Dalton Perkins, Brytan Spoonhunter, Sean Watts and Ben Zoller are in the boys lineup for the Wolverines.

Riverton's lineup for Class 4-A West race

Boys junior varsity -- Tyler Allen, Matt Amos, Caleb C' Bearing, Russell C' Hair, Andrew Dayton, Bryan Lane, Duncan Makin.

Girls junior varsity -- Mercedes Nanamkim.

Boys varsity -- Thomas Beasley, Dalton Perkins, Brytan Spoonhunter, Sean Watts, Ben Zoller.

Girls varsity -- Bailey Broadbent, Jillian C' Bearing, Aisha Durfey, Taylor Harris, Olivia Thompson, Camille Whiteman, Ainur Zhuldybaeva.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...