Arrington for Wind River, Dechert for Shoshoni get all-state VB recognition

Nov 7, 2013 By Bruce Tippets, Sports Editor

Macayla Arrington and Annika Dechert represent Fremont County on the Class 2-A all-state volleyball team.

Arrington is a senior for the Wind River Lady Cougars this year.

Dechert was a junior setter for the Shoshoni Wranglers.

"Getting athletes recognized is a tremendous accomplishment," SHS coach Christina Mills said. "I'm excited for all those young ladies. At the same time, I always stress the importance of team. Individual recognition would not be possible without teammates."


The Wranglers finished third in the Class 2-A West regional tournament to qualify for the state tournament last weekend in Casper.

Dechert, Erika Eckley, Shayde LeClair and Raine Pingetzer were named from SHS to the Class 2-A Southwest all-conference team.

"With Kemmerer winning state and Wind River nearly beating Big Horn, it was clear that our conference was very competitive," Mills said. "Having a tough conference truly helps prepare teams for the end of the season tournament."

Eckley was the only senior this year for the Wranglers.

SHS finished fourth at the Class 2-A state tournament.

"We have a lot of work to do this summer," Mills said. "The girls need to get in the weight room. They need to get a lot of touches on the ball during the offseason. The girls are in a great place, but they have a lot more to do. I'm excited about the future."

Wind River

Arrington, Kalie Keene, Tory Thoman and Bailey Wilson were put on the Class 2-A Southwest all-conference team for the Lady Cougars.

Arrington and Thoman were the two senior co-captains.

Keene and Wilson are sophomores. The four helped Wind River earn a trip to the state tournament for the first time since the 2009 season.

"I was very proud of our girls," said Wind River coach Kristan Trujillo said. "State was fun. I'm glad we got a win under our belts on the second day."

After pushing to Big Horn to five sets in the opening round, the Lady Cougars eliminated Southeast in a consolation match.

In the next round, Shoshoni outlasted Wind River in five sets.

"We have a great selection of underclassmen," Trujillo said.

Aspen Stagner and Darcey Maddock are two juniors this year.

"I'm excited for them to be our leaders as seniors next year," Trujillo said.

"We are already excited about next year."

Class 2-A Southwest all-conference honors

Ali Applin, Big Piney; Sarah Shafer, Big Piney; Abby Brunski, Kemmerer; Lexi Julian, Kemmerer; Marie McClaren, Kemmerer; Tia Tiller, Kemmerer; Madison Vickery, Kemmerer, Annika Dechert, Shoshoni; Erika Eckley Shoshoni' Shayde LeClair, Shosoni; Raine Pingetzer, Shoshoni; Macayla Arrington, Wind River; Kalie Keene, Wind River; Tory Thoman, Wind River; Bailey Wilson, Wind River, Alannah Amos, Wyoming Indian.

2-A Southwest

Player of the Year

Madison Vickery, Kemmerer.

Class 1-A Northwest

Diana Davidson, Burlington; Taylor Wiles, Burlington; Lisa Winters, Burlington; Shelby Nicholson, Burlington; Darienne Oard, Dubois; Ashton Abarr, Meeteetse; Tori Lewis, Meeteetse; Amelia May, Meeteetse; Haley Sessions, Meeteetse; Marcel Oldman, St. Stephen's; Carina Lewton, Ten Sleep; Clarissa Stephenson, Ten Sleep.

Class 2-A

all-state honors

Hanneah Puckett, Big Horn; McKeinzie Taylor, Big Horn; McKayla Ward, Burns; Cierra Carlson, Greybull; Abby Brunski, Kemmerer; Tia Tiller, Kemmerer; Madison Vickery, Kemmerer; Mercedes Haney, Lovell; Emilee Reasch, Lovell; Annika Dechert, Shoshoni; Jessica Lessad, Southeast; Haylee Hoffman, Thermopolis; Kortni Sharp, Tongue River; Macayla Arrington, Wind River; Shauna Rasmussen, Wright; Katie Strohschein, Wright.

Class 1-A all-state

Taylor Wiles, Burlington; Shelby Nicholson, Burlington; Kaylie Moyes, Cokeville; Carol Tonga, Cokeville; Elizabeth Dayton, Cokeville; Alyssa Barkhurst, Encampment; Morgan Cummings, Hulett; Hannah Bauernfeind, Hulett; Alicia Cornett, Hulett; Brekyn Hokanson,Kaycee; Kylah Meyer, Lingle Fort-Laramie; Shaylee Rickard, Lingle Fort-Laramie; Kaylee Greenwald, Lingle-Fort Laramie; Kydia Skalberg, Little Snake River; Amelia May, Meeteetse; Sophie Claycomb, Upton.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...